Cygnus

By Cygnus

Happy cook

I’m so organised today! I’ve already prepped and started this soup from the Bored of Lunch cookbook. I’ve already tried a couple of the recipes from this slow cooker tome and they’re been very tasty. I saw some recipes from this cook on Instagram during lockdown. One was enticing enough to give it a try and it worked well, apart from the crunchy noodles! (They weren’t meant to be crunchy). Since that less-than-wondrous result I’ve used the straight-to-wok noodles, which turned out much better.

I’m going to try two of the chicken curry recipes over the weekend too. The thing I like most about using my slow cooker is that I can go out in the afternoon (or all day!) and come home to dinner already sorted. I love being organised!

I have book group tonight. We’ve been reading The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng. I found the first half a bit slow and wasn’t even sure that I liked any of the protagonists. The second half was more redemptive for a few of the characters so now that I’ve finished I would definitely recommend the book. The writing is certainly beautiful and so evocative of a particular place and time (Malaya during the Emergency of the 1950s).

This soup will be ready for me to have a healthy bowl before I leave this evening. Sorted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.