Keith B

By keibr

Politics and a Film

Today I was back to my political duties. I'm on the Election Board for Härnösand and we were meeting to prepare for the EU elections happening in Sweden on the 10 June. Although the members of the board are appointed by the various political parties our job is expressly non-political, to ensure open, free and fair elections with all that entails.
I took my blipfoto as I emerged from the town hall. The snow is melting away in town and as a result it is looking far from pristine.
Also in the photo is our local cinema, Saga, and in the evening four of us went there to watch "Zone of Interest", about the home and family life of the commandant of Auschwitz, Höss. It's a very hard film to summarise, and a lot has been written about it, so I'll link to a Guardian review for those who want more information.
The violence and horror is all off-screen, but even so I spent a fairly restless night waking up regularly with the film in my mind! This is very unusual for me, but I remembered a sentence from the review; "It’s a bruising watch". It is that, but it is also an excellent piece of film-making in so many ways. A film I would recommend for so many reasons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.