Living my dream

By Mima

Peak Soup

This is a photo of what was on my computer screen this afternoon: the current supply of soups in the freezer. 

I have reached Peak Soup earlier than ever before. 67 containers before the end of March is unheralded.


Having said that, I am in dispute with my usually carefully-maintained contents list, because I have hunted in the depths of the freezer for the first two on the list without success. However I know better than to delist them, because previously ‘forgotten’ soups have appeared as if by magic hidden amongst the casseroles or fruit sections. 
 

So let’s say, for the sake of argument, that there are indeed 67 cartons of soup in there. It should be enough to keep me going nicely until late spring.

Instead of gardening at G's this morning, she asked me to join her in the kitchen to get to grips with the piles of vegetables she had picked. We spent a very chatty time cutting up tomatoes, onions, garlic, ginger, rhubarb, courgettes, capsicums and chillies.

Meanwhile icy rain (yes, RAIN!) battered the outside of the windows. It was definitely a lot more pleasant to be in a warm dry kitchen. 

It was about 10mm of rain. A nice wee drop, but nothing like enough to break the drought. And it's gone already. The sun is out and blue sky abounds again. The chilly wind is lingering a little while longer and we are in for a possible frost tonight. Sigh...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.