Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Inspired by Pinterest - Mark Making

I watched a video by Denise Love on You Tube which inspired me to do some mark making and to buy some new watercolour paints - these are Japanese and I love the colours and the way the paint feels when I use it.  She used a photograph to guide her choice of colour, which I thought was a great idea, so I chose this one taken on the Isle of Harris last year.  I think I created too many squares on my A3 sheet, so my results are a bit overworked with too many lines/ areas of colour.  But I really enjoyed the feel of what I was doing and I'll create another sheet to give me a bit more space.  I've cut it up now so I can isolate the ones I really like.

p.s. by sheer chance I was watching a BBC programme about conservation at National Trust properties.  One of the projects was to restore some Chinese wallpaper that was being eaten by Silver Fish.  One of the things I noticed was that she was using the same Japanese watercolours - so I chose the best or at least Denise Love did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.