secret garden

By freespiral

Chilean Lantern Tree

Finally a day doing very little but just enjoying the sunshine! I intended to do some strimming, instead we headed off west, parked in Kilcrohane and did one of my favourite loops - walking through fields, across streams and on to two deserted beaches full of large fat intricately marked pebbles. It was really windy down by the sea but roasting coming up through the little lanes. We treated ourselves to a cuppa and something sticky (well Himself had a very virtuous and madly healthy wholegrain biscuit, while I had apple and toffee cake with ice cream) at The White House Gallery .

Chilean Lanterns trees are everywhere at the moment and in full bloom - they look so exotic and are literally covered in these pretty red lanterns. I want one!

Oh and I meant to say - the highlight of my day - the two swans I thought were forlornly and belatedly sitting on their nest, have produced two tiny cygnets, spotted today swimming bravely out at sea under the beady eye of their very protective parents. Hurray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.