The Way I See Things

By JDO

Proboscis

I hope to be in a position quite soon to stop whining about the weather - but today is not that day. Despite a promising start, it turned increasingly Icelandic over the course of the day, in the sense that every time you thought you knew what was going on, some other kind of weather promptly arrived. In Stratford at lunchtime I was too hot in all my winter layers in the suddenly warm and balmy conditions, but by the time we arrived back home it was raining, and blowing a minor gale. Half an hour after that it was sunny again, but by the time the plumpies decided to risk emerging from their shelters it was heavily overcast and cold. And so on.

I hope you're not too bored with hairy-footed flower bees by now. If you are, I can only apologise that this is the fourth one I've posted this week - but personally I can't get enough of them, and I have friends, including my co-grandmother, who feel the same. So P, this one's for you. Today I concentrated on taking facial shots, and I've chosen this image because it illustrates the bee's awesome proboscis pretty well. But I did accidentally capture some flight shots as well, and I've posted my favourite of those to Facebook, if you'd care to take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.