Beewriter

By Beewriter

Legends of Steam

A little trip to Ramsbottom for the Legends of Steam weekend. As we arrived so did Sir Nigel Gresley, there were train spotters everywhere. I stood by the barriers to take a pic as the train whistle pierced the air. Steam belched forth, heads popped out of the windows, people waved from the train, bystanders waved at the train and a plethora of anoraks clicked away….me amongst them. The train left the station, filled to busting with standing room only available. It was magnificent.

I then went to Astley Mining Museum. From one powerhouse of metal to another. There were machines and cogs and tools and huge, huge wheels. Sadly, the engine wasn’t running today so I’ll be going back when it is. I want to see that massive wheel turn. It is all run by volunteers and they do a sterling job. Pat and I had a cuppa in the cafe.

I love all that power. Huge machines that thunder. Steam trains that roll by and you feel their weight shake the ground. The smell. The noise. Yep….I’m true anorak lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.