SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Spring

Although there had been a slight frost, there was definitely a feeling of spring today, as I headed out down the old railway with Django. The woods were smelling of wild garlic - although it's not yet in flower - and the trees were green with leaf buds. After passing through the first part of Roslin Glen, Django stopped below the bridge to Roslin Castle as I started the climb up. He didn't move when I called down that "the dog doesn't decide", but I relented and went back down to him, as I'd half thought of going beyond the castle bridge and following the rough northern section of the Glen.

After the week's rain, the mud was very slippery, and I had the usual cathartic scramble over the fallen trees at the landslide. There are two Turf zones by the river, and in both cases I had to return to the top of the Glen to regain phone signal, so it was a good physical work-out. It was also fun half-sliding back down the steep and slippery trackless woodland. 

When I got to Hewan Wood, where the Glen widens into a broad valley, I decided not to continue to Bonnyrigg, and took the Roslin old railway to Loanhead, where I got a bus home. 

Back home, I refuelled, updated my diary, and watched the first of the three rugby matches. The schadenfreude of seeing Italy win in Wales was sweet. Just as 21-24 flattered Wales, Scotland were (less) flattered by their 17-13 loss in Ireland. 

Tonight is the season's crunch match in our household, as France take on England...

... and, in the end, it would have been better if England had won - and they did on tries - but what a great game!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.