Just the Withers......

By JaneW

From happy to sad ..

The last few days blips have been incredibly happy but this morning my Dad phoned , I knew what it was going to be about as Dad sends very short texts and not very often. His best friend Brian died in the early hours . It was kind of expected. Dad was with him on Thursday , gave him a shave as Brian didn’t really like stubble … he took him a new radio as his had broken and Brian listened to the archers … anyway Dad said Brian only woke up briefly said ‘you’ve got me a new radio’ looked happy and fell back to sleep . He didn’t wake up again …. I said to Dad that his last ever thought was so happy , his best mate of over 50 years died knowing Terry cared and looked out for him .
I’ve known Brian all my life . The stories I could tell you about him and dad getting drunk and doing incredibly stupid things over the decades are plentiful.
More than that though he really really helped my dad with business and just generally being a lovely kind person . I feel awful for my Dad because right up until 10 days ago they still spoke on the phone everyday.

Anyway goodnight Brian , it was an absolute pleasure to have known you xxxxxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.