Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace Day 1

It doesn't take me long to get in a mess. Here is The Man with The B-I-L coming out of the marina and along the Trent & Mersey Canal. We had 2 locks to get through tonight and at the Colwich Lock The Man was engaged in conversation at the lock so I got off the boat to unhitch it from the bollard so we could go into the lock.

Wham! Before I knew what was happening I was face down in the mud. I picked myself up and checked my glasses weren't broken. There was no time to clean myself up or tend to my wounds, I had to get on the boat and drive it into the lock.

All the while a holiday-maker was chatting to me as if I looked fine and said she hoped she'd see me at Keswick later in the summer. How will she recognise my with a clean face and hair?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.