WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

My new super power

The gentle southerly was hardly an excuse for a one-way trip but I feel fully justified this week! 

I took to my wheels! They wheeled me to Hawes for an early lunch treat and then Kirkby Stephen for the train. 

I met a guy on my way up Fleet Moss who had passed me once already. He chatted for a while and told me he was going to do ‘The Fred’ in a few weeks time. I told him if he had passed me twice he was doing OK. And on and up he went. 

I was a touch smug to see him having a bit of a hard time zigzagging a few yards later. Little Dog had been running alongside at times and I had made a plan for her to tow me up and she was doing so in a beautiful straight line, almost right behind. I was all right! :D

I took Billy Lane near the end of the ride which was beautiful and psychologically, a bit like finishing on the Cow and Calf at home… downhill to the railway station. I was glad I did it for that but also there were these stunning fell ponies on the roadside (with Great Dun Fell in the distance) so I stopped for a little chat before the final mile or so to the station. 

The name of my bike had never really registered before but today in the cafe as I thanked it through the window, it did. It’s called Solace. It works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.