This is the day

By wrencottage

Eye Treatment Centre

Today I drove to our local hospital for the second day running. 

Yesterday afternoon I took The Traveller there to have an outpatients procedure done, and today I drove Smithers to a hastily re-scheduled appointment at the eye treatment centre, which was opened by Sir Trevor Brooking in 2005. My photo shows a display on the notice board in the main corridor of the clinic.

The consultant who performed Smithers' emergency glaucoma operation is currently on long-term sick leave, so all appointments are having to be re-arranged. I think we were asked to come in on a Sunday at short notice because they are trying to reduce the waiting list. None of the staff we saw usually work at this hospital, so we assumed that maybe they were seconded from Moorfields.

After having several different eye tests and pressure checks, the last port of call for Smithers was to see the duty doctor, who checked the test results and then did a minor procedure on the drain tube fitted in Smithers’ eye, which needed a tiny bit trimmed off. He’s had this done once before, and hopefully it will make him feel a bit more comfortable. We are very grateful for all the expert attention he’s receiving.

Back home for a cup of tea, followed by a visit from our youngest two (very lively) granddaughters. I confess I’m totally wiped out now, having started a cold yesterday and having spent today sneezing and blowing my nose non-stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.