JackyMT

By JackyMT

Last of the Summer Wine Country

When I read some of the passages to the photographs I can almost hear Cleggy or should I say  Peter Sallis speaking them. Did you know he was 96 when he died and he is buried in St Johns Church in the Holm Valley next to Bill Owen (Compo) I think the church is in Upperthong. (plus there will never be another Wallace)
For those who have no idea what I am talking about "The Last of the Summer Wine" was a TV programme set in Holmfirth the characters  were an elderly group of friends who were always up to mischief.  Peter Sallis also voiced Wallace in the Wallace and Gromit films.(got the Wensleydale cheese  Gromit)
I have walked the Holm valley way, in 2 parts as its 30 miles round, beautiful country, 

A wet start to the day but fined up later so did some indoor jobs morning after wet dog walk, and sorted a few leggy plants out in the greenhouse in the afternoon.

We did think our dog walk would be delayed because Paula was waiting for a package from Amazon and it was to be delivered by 1pm but lucky for us he arrived at 8.15am so we were still able to get off even if it was raining.

Dog and cat loved me being out in the garden and greenhouse, in fact I went outside and said to them I am off in the greenhouse and by the time I got there the cat was sat on the step waiting for me,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.