Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Allergies and genius

The trees are blooming, the pollen is blowing, my eyes are itching and watering, my nose is streaming, and my throat is hoarse. But I am having a splendid weekend with Sue. We did a little work in her back yard, we played cards, we did a little cooking, and we watched the best movie we've seen in years. 

Origin is Ava DuVernay's movie genius added to Isabel Wilkerson's academic genius, and the two of them together offer wisdom, drama, compassion, inventive treatment of history, and intelligence in a film. Wilkerson wrote Caste, which Sue and I read some years back. It's a study of the similarities between the Nazi treatment of Jews (which the Nazis learned from studying race laws in the USA), the Hindu treatment of Dalit ("untouchables"), and "white" people's treatment of Black people in the USA. DuVernay created a movie about Wilkerson writing Caste and found ways to make an academic study come off the page and into our minds and hearts. It leaves us believing, "A world without caste would set everyone free." 

It should have swept the Oscars. Instead it was completely bypassed, which convinces me the Oscars are even more frivolous a product of caste than I have long suspected. If you get a chance to see Origin, do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.