Chrelizg21

By Chrelizg21

Almost Got It!

Sunny this morning, so thought I'd have a look at the insects working the comfrey in the front garden. There were several stately queen bumblebees, but I've featured them quite often, so I thought I'd play the SIIF game, which involves trying to lock on to an Insect In Flight, then Snapping it. (yes, I made up my own rules). This Blip represents my best effort today.

Actually, I did learn something. With the naked eye I thought that the little furry bundles darting in with proboscis extended & changing direction erratically were bee-flies, but, after enlarging four or five different images, neither the antennae nor the proboscis look right, they probably have two pairs of wings, the hind part of the abdomen is black and there's pale hair on their faces, so it looks as if they are male hairy-footed flower bees. I've previously recorded female ones in the garden later in the year, but hadn't recognised the male ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.