Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Buzz, buzz, buzz, I wonder why he does?

Today started with a visit from the electrician. Mainly focusing on lights.
The bulb in the oven had gone and when I went to replace it the glass bulb had broken away from the screw fitting. I wasn't able to extract the fitting from the socket so to my annoyance had to call them out.
As we were already paying a call out charge, we got them to check one of our outside lights where the sensor seems to be playing up - he replaced that bulb too.
One of the fluorescent tubes in the bathroom was playing up. We thought it was the starter but no, he replaced that bulb too!
My final request, in light of the awful fire affecting a blipper last week, was that he checked that our expensive, required by Scottish Government, linked smoke alarms were all working. I know they didn't make any difference in that case, but it seemed worth doing. They are all working and I now know how to test them myself.
My blip was taken in the front garden, this bee was enjoying basking in the sunshine on the warm slabs.
We decided to head out to Mannerstons for some lunch. Monday evening is always tight to find time to eat because of bridge, so a good lunch seemed a good idea. I had very tasty fish and chips but sadly the advertised home made tartare sauce had been changed to Heinz sachets.
We nipped next door to the garden centre afterwards and picked up some compost ready to start some work in the garden. It was a lovely day today and quite warm at times, the garden centre was looking very colourful and full of spring flowers.
My extra is of the garden centre carpark and reminds me that the weather has actually not been lovely for an extended period. I wasn't sure if they were opening a water garden section in the carpark or a car wash. Probably the former as there were some gulls enjoying a swim when we arrived!
This evening as I said we went to bridge, our last club night. I wasn't feeling particularly great, but managed to revive enough so that we won again. Next week is our end of season dinner at the Burgess, so we're looking forward to that and to a shortened evening of bridge afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.