middleman

By middleman

Sandal

We made the most of it today with our flight back to Scotland not being 'til 9.15pm (at Stansted as I type, need to keep my eye on that departure board an' all, wouldn't do to miss the f**ker). A wander round Holborn, a tasty three course set lunch at an Italian, and further 'Italian' with the big Legion exhibition at The British Museum. What I took away from it mostly was that a lot of the time in a soldier's Roman army life was spent marching between Rome and Naples, wearing out a lot of sandals in the process.

All that was left after that was some record buying at Rough Trade East (where I was served by someone whose accent I clicked immediately, very distinct, Hull of course, the next suburb along from where I grew up, and we were getting on swimmingly until he overcharged me massively...a simple till error, or so he claimed!!) and an alfresco ale on Commercial Street before the short walk to Liverpool Street for the Stansted Express. Cheers London, you've been great. Already thinking of another visit in a few months time.

Roman Sandal (Ahem)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.