The Way I See Things

By JDO

Who you?

I was in a vile mood this morning: stressed because the garden was looking awful, and I knew I was going to have to shape myself and do something about it; frustrated because I was struggling to get the photos I wanted; and overtired because (*self-inflicted wound alert*) I did far too much yesterday and wore myself out. In the end R went out and left me to my megrim, and I didn't blame him - I'd have done the same in his shoes. But when he got back he volunteered to start on the spring garden tidy, which cheered me up, and then I decided to go out and work alongside him, so we got twice as much done as if either of us had been cutting and clearing alone, and that cheered me up even more. Domestic harmony restored, I even found the time and energy to cross a few other things off my do-do list, so all in all it was quite a productive day.

Sadly, things went less well photography-wise: in dreary light, with skittish subjects, and working against a gusty breeze, I didn't have a great day with the macro. This though, turned out better than I'd planned or expected. It was supposed to be just a record shot of the Chocolate Mining bee (which is stylopised, and may even be the same unfortunate female I posted four weeks ago), but the intervention of the flea beetle, and the bee's apparent interest in the interloper, have lifted it to another level. In an ideal world the beetle would have been approaching rather than retreating, but you can't have everything, and to my eye the scene is amusing just as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.