Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Sköl!

Happy Birthday Dad!  He’d be 121 today.  This photo from the 70s is stuck up by my computer so I toast him every day.  I hope I haven't blipped this.  ?    But I’m also remembering that the book I started about him last year hasn’t been worked on since last summer.  OH dear.  It’s getting harder to finish projects.  But I’ll do it!   New resolve!  The wooden box is his  (I’m assuming he carved it altho it could be his father) and the box of letters has resurfaced recently.   I read them years ago.   There are 56 letters, from Feb to Sept 1933,  from him in Brooklyn to my Mom in Evanston near Chicago (before they were married in 1936 )  and a few from 1934.   I don’t really like to read them..they’re private love letters.    But I also learn about events, people and what jobs they had.   How would I know he acted in a play?   That year they were both still living at their family’s home.   Mom had a good secretarial job and snuck typewritten letters from work to him,  He had very little work at that time (that’s why they weren’t yet married) but was up to all sorts of pranks and silliness.    I guess I can’t throw them away….
I don’t have a single real letter like these from Herb.   My how times have changed.

The weather is changing…the air is pretty polluted today.   The event of the day is dinner for 6 at a good friend’s!    (Also seems a thing of the past)   I made fresh glazed strawberry pie.    MAYBE there will be an extra later…..

Extra….a lovely dinner out…….loved it ….and the table. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.