For the family

By RonaMac

About turn

It was B’s turn to be scrutinised today. We set the alarm for 5am, the time that he was due to start phase 2 of his ‘fluids’. I got up with him to make sure everything was mixed and no sneaky naughty goodies were going to be consumed. I had a cup of coffee, then went back to bed and slept until 8am. 

Today we headed in a different direction to Burton on Trent hospital. A place we have visited too many times recently, but have come to appreciate and has decent parking facilities.  I left B in the department for his investigations and headed for the cafe, I knew that it was going to be a longish wait and I was certainly caffeine deficient after yesterday. 

I had an interesting conversation with one of the hospital volunteers who was sat at the same table, the cafe was packed. We ended up talking about AI and ChatGPT, quite how I’m not sure. 

Back to the department waiting area, to do my knitting to pass the time. Brian texted to say that he was still waiting, was last on the list and the consultant had a junior with him that he was training, so things were delayed. I headed back to the cafe to get another coffee and eat the Chelsea bun that I bought on the first visit, but didn’t eat because I was talking. 

The department was well organised and had information boards round the walls for the patients. The board in my blip was the pets belonging to the staff in the department. A fun way of making the place less clinical. 

I was included in the feedback session for B when everything was finished. All good news I’m pleased to say, no nasty surprises. 

We were home in good time to collect Amber from kennels. She was delighted to see us and has slept most of the evening. It’s tiring running around with all your doggy friends!!! 

We enjoyed dinner this evening, the first normal meal since Sunday evening. Now for an undisturbed night’s sleep. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.