Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Well travelled photo

I’m trying to organise all my old photos as they’re currently somewhat erratically arranged in ancient photo albums that take up lots of space. I came across this one - I hadn’t seen the back of it for decades so it made me smile.

First of all I want to point out the cowboy boots and gypsy skirt, which I had sewn broderie anglaise around the hem of to increase the authenticity. I was very pleased with that outfit I remember. Also I have a perm but that’s another story. I’m in Bulgaria on a ski trip in 1979. I was 14 and I can’t actually believe my parents let me go - we flew on a plane that was, shall we say, basically functional. There was hardly any snow. The food was unspeakable - to get to the soup you had to crack the layer of fat on the top. It was early days for tourism there and I think a few bus loads of kids from Plymouth were the guinea pigs. My ski jacket came from C & A - those were the days - and my mother insisted I have a flight bag for the plane. I hated skiing with a passion - probably because we had to spend hours on a coach getting to a small patch of grey snow at the top of a mountain. I took a huge ancient camera and a roll of 24 film - most of the photos were rubbish so I ended up with about 6 that were passable.

At the time I had a German penpal, Doris Busmann. She asked for a photo of me so I sent this, and as you can see, I asked for it to be returned because photos back then were so incredibly precious. I remember she sent me a photo of herself and said I didn’t have to return it - I couldn’t believe it!

I wonder if penpals are still a thing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.