Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Office Daffodils

In the office today, completing the review of files and getting ready to start inspections of caravan sites.  I remember the daffodils that adorn the bank at the back of the offices being planted many years ago.  They put on a great show in the spring.

A few visits after lunch, checking on sites with just one caravan to see if they are still there.  I visited one site which our only record was a licence from 1961.  Despite a licence that had conditions meaning that the caravan should have been removed when the occupier moved on, there was a large double unit on site, pleasantly surrounded by a low fence.  I spoke to the occupier, who had lived there for 13 years.  Her husband was working for the land owners until a couple of years ago.  He sadly died just before Christmas.

I know my visit will have caused some anxiety for the lady still living there. I need to check with my planning colleagues to find out if permission is still valid and then we'll need to ask for a new licence application.  I have no wish to add to her woes, so I hope we can get everything back in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.