Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

Man overboard.....

One of those days again. Kev a no show,so had to carry the 50 odd bags of barely all by myself to feed the cattle. Got Charlie to come out of retirement and help me roll the bale of silage up the feed passage as I couldn't budge it on my own.
Eventually got everything fed in time to get the 42 cattle I am trying to sell round to the yard so a potential buyer from Fife could get a look at them. Left him to speak to Brian from Border Livestock to see if a deal could be done. Turns out his value and my value were too far apart so no sale .
After lunch,headed down to my contractor for a load of hay bales as we have run out and wee brother needs them for his lambing sheep.
While I had a coffee in the office with Mr R ,left his brother to load the trailer. Think he was having a bad day a this is what the load looked like when I got back. After a bit of guidance and a bit of shoving bales back into place I put plenty of ratchet straps on and made it home without losing any bales in transit,always a bonus.
Just finished stacking them in wee brother's shed when the auctioneer from Stirling arrived in. He was keen to see the cattle I want to sell. He estimated the weights and valued them more or less the same as I had. Must know what I'm talking about then !
If all else fails they will be on a lorry to a mart either down the road to St Boswells or up to UA at Stirling. We shall see.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.