This is the day

By wrencottage

So much love

This beautiful bouquet of flowers is just one of the ways that I was shown much love today on my birthday. They are from our eldest son and his fiancée, and arrived quite early this morning, starting the day off in style.

Dearest Smithers treated me to a present of a tiny antique silver thimble decorated with roses, with which I’d fallen in love on eBay. It arrived today, bang on time, and fits me perfectly. As a lover of tiny things (not only wrens!) and a lover of sewing, I couldn’t be more delighted. 

The day then continued with a selection of lovely cards, flowers and garden posies, visits, telephone calls and text messages. It ended with our middle son and his family coming for an impromptu after-school supper. They presented me with some thoughtful gifts including a nest box made from recycled paper, some muscari bulbs and a fold-away shopping bag made from recycled plastic bottles. 

It’s been such a lovely day, and I was quite blown away by all the love that has been showered on me by my family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.