BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Jougs

I had a meeting this morning to the east of Edinburgh. Due to roadworks at Cameron Toll I had to take a road home that was different to my usual route.

It took me past Duddingston Kirk where, at the gate, there is one of the very few remaining “jougs” in Scotland. The collar and chain are well photographed but I can’t recall posting it myself.

From mainly the 16th to the 18th century it was used to detain miscreants. Those who had been drunk, disorderly, gossipmongers or even not attending church could be chained up at the entrance to the church, sometimes for days at a time to repent for what they had done wrong.

Kirk Sessions in those days had much more power and authority than nowadays. Good thing customs change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.