Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dreary

I must have been too pleased with the sunshine on the past couple of days, too ready with my sun-struck photos, for today was unbearably dreary, with heavy rain to start off with - especially when I was unloading the messages from the car - and wind and greyness later. Annoyingly, the sky is clear and star-studded above us now, after 11pm, in the lull before the next front.

Morrison's seemed busier than usual at my customary early hour; I was wondering if people are anticipating a houseful over the Easter period and were getting their larders filled early. (Next week will likely be worse.) Anyway, I had to queue to check out, something I rarely have to do, and the car park was quite busy as I left. 

I don't know where the rest of the morning went, really - a phone chat with my sister, coffee, washing up - but suddenly it was lunchtime and I felt I'd done a day's work. I read the Sunday paper and fell asleep, and then felt if I didn't go out I'd go mad. Himself needed shoelaces 100cm long (he found them - triumph) and so we both went out together and ended up walking from the East Bay (pictured above) to the West Bay, with an increasingly strong wind in our faces. At least the rain had stopped.

I really thought as I took that photo, the only one of the day, that I'd use it for blip to invite sympathy; there are few places drearier than a seaside former holiday resort in the off season on a day like this, and that huge expanse of mud and sand is never actually covered with revellers and day-trippers. Of course, first thing when I got up this morning it was high tide, with big breakers right over the pavement of the East Bay; this is the reality of low tide. Have I your sympathy yet? 

Spent some time packing to go to family tomorrow for a couple of days, intermittently looking at the gales (or gale-force gusts) forecast and wondering if the ferries will be affected. Fingers crossed - this is one of these occasions when "See you on the other side" seems appropriate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.