Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Yep, I still play with dolls.

I restored that old photo of me recently, age 7, with my Madame Alexander doll.  I was yet again a victim of my dad's obsession with his new Polaroid camera.  The doll on the right I just finished.  It is made with a vintage bisque doll head, sewing notions, some of which belonged to my mom (who made clothes for my doll), and a hat made with the top of a vintage saltshaker.  The dress is made from recycled sari silk that I get from a women run collective in India.  For some reason, it reminded me of a handkerchief doll.  During pioneer times (and at other times when supplies were scarce), dolls were made from handkerchiefs for little girls. These handkerchief dolls were called “prayer dolls.” They were carried to church and did not make noise if they were dropped.  Mine here would definitely make a noise when dropped!  The base is a wooden thread spool.   Here is a link for making a "pew baby" should the spirit move you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.