Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

First Roll 2024

SATURDAY

I had intended to do the Nova Prestatyn parkrun but had to change my plans after reading on Facebook at 07:30 am that it had been cancelled on safety grounds primarily due to the high winds causing sandstorm conditions on the promenade. There was also a high tide forecast for 10:00 am.

The early cancellation allowed me to change my plans and drive the 12 miles to Ruthin for the parkrun. The wind (and rain) here must have been blowing in the right direction as I achieved a PB 27:21 on the Memorial Fields course.

After heading home for a shower and some breakfast I then went down to the Rhuddlan Bowling Club. The green was open for play for the first time this year and the clubhouse was buzzing with members with tea and cakes and player registration for the 2024 season. I caught up with fellow bowlers, many of whom I have not seen since September last year.

This afternoon we headed over to Rhewl for a late lunch at The Old Station Sugar Plum Cafe and afterwards stopped off at  St Saeran Church in the hamlet of Llanynys (see extra). The church is medieval but its foundations date from the 6th century. There is centuries old graffiti inscribed upon the door and inside a magnificently preserved medieval wall painting of St Christopher, 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.