David J. Rose

By djrose007

Old Mates

Another terrible journey tale with closed roads (A419) on the way to Swindon to pick up the M4. Diverted down country roads which added half an hour to a normally two and a half hour journey. Another 10 minutes was added on the A1M North, two lanes down to one due to roadworks, miles of traffic crawling, stopping, crawling!! Add to all of that there was torrential rain and hail storms periodically throughout the journey. Luckily I was in my little MX-5 car, but unluckily because I wouldn't have got held up if I'd been on my bike.
And why was I so far from home, 150 miles away? To attend the 75'th birthday of my old friend Den Rees from Porthcawl. He doesn't live in Porthcawl now, he lives in Henlow and the party was being held at Mount Pleasant golf club. I stayed at the Premier Inn, Letchworth Garden City. Another lovely stay at a Premier Inn, they really are good.
Den and I served together at RAF Masirah, Oman in 1968 and 1969 and were even in the same 4 man room along with Mick Whitmarsh and John ('Jock The Baker') Brown. We are all still in touch, 56 years later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.