MidgeholeDave

By MidgeholeDave

A Big Memory

My Mum was the Head Cook at the Hospital where we lived.  Her assistant was an Austrian lady - Anna - who had escaped from Vienna during WW II.
In 1957 she went back to see her family and took me with her.  A memorable jourrney - by rail - all the way from Todmorden to Vienna.
Of course I met all her family and friends.  This was Fritjof who took me everywhere in the city.  I have very vivid memories of the many buildings having machine gun bullet holes in the walls and the extensive bomb damage still evident.  I had difficulty understanding how terrible it must have been 'living' there during the war. 
Fritjof played the basoon in the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and was a thoroughly nice young man - sadly he was killed in a car crash in the 60s.
When I left to return home he gave me this rather wonderful leather photgraph album - and thankfully he had included a photograph inside.
A very big memory never to be forgotten.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.