Again and Again

By Ripitup

Old man in the spring

Pa visited me unexpectedly and before 8am, bearing almost dead flowers and spinach from the garden.  Mr Riu was still sleeping and I reading in bed so the multiple doorbell chimes were not that well received by one of us.  He had turned his car and was about to drive off when I opened the door and shouted something about needing to get somewhere as I waved.

I was the High Five marshal at junior parkrun and got to wave a big foam hand for the participants to slam as the neared the finish.  I didnt have tea afterwards with Elaine as MrRiu said that he wanted to go out somewhere.  He had changed his mind when I got home so I did some chores for a bit before heading to see Pa.

My suspicion was  confirmed and he had  been heading to the supermarket for when it opens.  On a weekday. He'd forgotten what day it was. Again.

He was building a frame for runner beans and had planted potatoes so was in good spirits.   We had a walk around the garden and he asked me about the identity of several plants which were native species that ma would have declared weeds.  I suggested that he left them if he liked them as they were colourful 

In the greenhouse he had planted plug plants in hanging baskets in their plastic plugs.  I suggested they might be happier out of the plastic restraints.

I also suggested that the native Groundsel he was nurturing would be better composted before it seeded into the baskets.  I did not know that it was sometimes called old man in the spring and thought it made a better title for today than 'basketcase' which was what initially sprung to mind as I reflected on the day.  It is a  little worrying how rapidly his mind seems to be deteriorating although I have little experience to call on.

The meat that I'd cooked for my roast dinner was rather disappointing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.