Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Of Painted Hills and Parrots

First of all, thanks so much for your response to yesterday’s sparrow hawk. I was a little concerned about the graphic nature of the shots, so I’m so pleased you liked the set. 

Today’s one of those days when we set off unsure where we’ll end up. We’re thinking of the coast at Llanfairfechan, but end up travelling through Eryri instead - largely following the gaps in the clouds. 

Of course, the Ogwen valley’s absolutely packed with day trippers and hikers, and parking’s at a premium; several errant cars spilling out from the lay-by have  tell-tale yellow stickers on their windscreens - their day out will be costlier than planned. 

Of course, I have the ever patient G, who drops we off at various points for photo opportunities. It’s one of those days where patchy sunshine paints the landscape while ominous clouds gather round the mountain peaks, spilling mysteriously over ridges. There are clear signs of spring, but the wind has a distinct chill about it. 

The wind would suggest no chance of reflections on Llyn Ogwen today, but at the far end by the boat house, my iPhone shots show an area of mirror-calmness - iPhone as I my camera bag’s at home, not in the boot as I’d presumed and the 50mm lens now on my camera just doesn’t have the width I need, though it manages the other shots quite well. 

Across the road is very different scene of mystical mists overflowing from Tryfan and The Glyders, the slate window stones standing like ancient monoliths against the spot lit slopes behind. 




https://www.welshslatewaterfeatures.co.uk/ogwen-valley-window-stones/

As I’m taking the shot, a couple in full mountain gear walk past the car complete with parrot. I’ve not seen this, but G has and is still shaking his head in disbelief when I return. He tells me what he’s seen and is even more perplexed at my response. ‘Oh, yes - taking parrots up mountains seems to be a thing….. ‘ I’m remembering the mountain rescue story from last year when a woman and her parrot had to be rescued from Glyder Fawr - amusing if it wasn’t for the risks involved in any rescue . 

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/woman-parrot-gets-stuck-welsh-27395889

Of course, I can’t resist chasing after them to take a photo - though the gorgeously cute Jaffa is a tiny black headed parrot who sits quite happily on his hand, a little harness presumably stopping him from flying off too far. 

So my main today’s the mystical scene below the Glyders, with extras of Llyn Ogwen and the boathouse, the sunlight painted hills, and - of course - Jaffa the parrot! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.