One step at a time!

By IanO

Another day...

...another hospital pic.

First of all thank you to everyone for your kind words regarding GeordiePam. She is recovering really well and is even venturing outside.

I was due to attend the Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital but had to cancel when GeordiePam was admitted to hospital. I thought I would be in for another long wait for a replacement appointment but this proved not to be the case. They rang me at the beginning of last week, they'd had a cancellation for Friday and would I like to take the spot. I jumped at the chance and then wondered how I'd get there as I was not allowed to drive. Not to worry one of my wonderful grandsons kindly chauffeured me.

My Blip was taken whilst I was in the waiting area. These procedures seem quite commonplace nowadays with this hospital alone performing 1,500 each year. I won't bore anyone with the details but I was awake the whole time and chatting to the cardiologist as he was working inside my heart, incredible!

There is evidence of considerable expenditure at this hospital, almost everywhere looked brand new. The ‘Cath Lab’ where the procedure was performed was definitely state of the art, it took my breath away with how futuristic it looked and they have five more exactly the same. All the staff I met were amazing - enthusiastic, caring and friendly and so funny I couldn't help but feel relaxed. 

In fact the contrast to our experience in a Welsh hospital the week before couldn't be more stark. Once again I would say I don't blame the staff there but the lack of funding and competent management is plain to see. 

Hopefully, I won’t be Blipping anymore hospital pics for a while and with lighter evenings and better weather subjects for photos should increase greatly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.