Life Savors

By osuzanna

Baboon Crossing

Our driver picked us up early and we spent the day exploring the area between Cape Town and the Cape of Good Hope.  On the way, we were forced to stop as a troop of Baboons decided to cross the road in front of us.  There were probably 40 or so and several females were carrying the cute little babies.  This is not the greatest photo, but the baby was too cute to pass up.  This was taken from the back seat, through the front window, with my little pocket sized Sony.  We also saw ostriches, antelope and penguins.  

After a lovely seafood lunch overlooking False Bay, we ended the day at the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, where got to see some beautiful sunbirds enjoying the protea.  I have loaded a photo of the alpha Male baboon into extra along with a sunbird and an ostrich portrait.  

I was really missing my full frame camera with the big lenses, but after hearing some horror stories about cameras being stolen, I left them back at the hotel.  As it turns out, we were not at risk at any time and I could have brought them.  Next time...

Tomorrow we are off to Durban on the Indian Ocean. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.