The Way I See Things

By JDO

The joys of spring

I'm featuring yet another plumpie because the photo reminds me of the joy of spring I felt this morning, when the sun emerged brightly and the invertebrates all came out to play. Interesting Bee of the Day is probably the Common Mourning Bee (Melecta albifrons) in my second image, but a rather scruffy, black cuckoo bee on a ragged and fading hyacinth doesn't exactly raise a smile - especially as it's my beloved Hairy-footed Flower Bee whose nests it parasitises. Not that either of these individuals will be involved in building or invading any nests, both being males, but there was a female plumpie foraging around the ground ivy in the front garden this morning and I felt a frisson of danger on her behalf, knowing that her enemy is emerging.

I had a 10,000 step day today, and much of that came from repeatedly circling the garden, and then walking around the village, in search of inverts. I did go to the garden centre as well though, my indecisive pottering probably amassing a thousand or so, and R and I also walked along the river from Old Town into Stratford later, when we went out for a light but lovely BTP lunch. By the time we arrived home it was heavily overcast, and shortly after that it began to rain - which was depressing except insofar as it kept me from having to plant two wall shrubs and some patio bedding. Maybe tomorrow. (Or not.)

While thinking about tagging this post for Tiny Tuesday, it occurred to me that I'm supposed to be hosting quite soon, and on checking my emails it turns out that I'm doing it next month. I'll post something in Challenges and on Facebook, but it will only amount to the tag numbers for each week - as usual I won't be setting any themes, but sticking with the spirit of WalkingWombat's original #maymacromayhem challenge. So, I'd love it if you'd post a close-up on a Tuesday of something small (taken with any camera and lens that will do the job - it doesn't have to be an actual macro) and tag it for that week's challenge. Round about Thursday I'll go through the tagged posts, and sprinkle hearts and stars on my favourites. I do hope you'll all decide to play, or I'll have absolutely nothing to do next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.