The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

Get into the Grove

It's Sunday - It's June - It's raining - It's Glasgow...
Must be time to go to the park!

We headed to Glasgow's Victoria Park to check out Fossil Grove - a 330 million year old grove of fossilised tree stumps, uncovered in 1887 and preserved in this quaint little museum building. I remember coming here with my folks when I was a wee boy and being amazed then. I'm still pretty impressed by it now.

Inside the museum, just next to the trees, there is a display of exotic insects in heated glass cases: a tarantula, a scorpion, a pair of stick insects and some Giant African Land Snails. All quite impressive - except they were all dead and had been put into "life like" poses. I'm not sure why they are here and, more specifically, why their cases need to be heated - but then I AM easily confused!


Copyright © 2013 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.