and through the wire...

By hesscat

Nothing Works

It's been a while since we've been to a gig for da kidz, but off we were out west to the O2 Academy in Glasgow to see Declan McKenna... first time for Mrs C and I since 2017! This is usually the point where I recall us seeing the wee 16 year old boy at the Green Man Festival in 2015, fresh from winning the emerging talent award at Glastonbury... but I must have said it too many times now, so will skip over it this time.  On his 3rd album now, he's been working hard these past 9 years and can comfortably fill the O2 Academy tonight and tomorrow night.

It's quite a different experience at a gig for da kidz which I'll not go into except look at all these phones recording videos for instagram, some people will probably be able to see Declan better on a phone blocking their view of him. I mean, obviously I am using my phone too, but I'm allowed to because I'm holding it in landscape mode, which da kidz don't seem to do these days. So for the avoidance of doubt, I'm making a joke, not looking down my snooty nose :-)

Yeah, where was I... so about 2000 kidz got there before us and filled the main area, but we luckily found a raised level, in the centre with great views, result! It was fun, we all enjoyed it, great to see the excitement, Ms H probably had the best view she's had of him. We've got a soft spot for Declan, it's nice to see him work his way up and now seems to be pretty well established, yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.