Living my dream

By Mima

Bean (not that one)

Most of the beans that are left on the wigwams are maturing to provide me dried beans to store in the pantry and use through winter and spring (and seed for next year). 

However there are a few beans which have developed recently and which are tender enough to be steamed and eaten with lashings of butter for supper tonight. It is quite the treat at this time of year, especially one which has been cold so early. There will be one or two more dishes before they give up for the year.

The crop of beans to dry is going to be excellent. I got the timing just right to start leaving them to mature, unlike last year when I ate and froze fresh ones for a few weeks too long before desisting. 

They make excellent gifts, as well as providing me the basis of wonderful casseroles, soups and - of course - Mima's baked beans (which aren't baked at all).

Bean loves raw beans. Of course she does. When I pick them she hangs around my legs, giving me 'the look' until she gets a fresh treat. Irresistible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.