Yvonnedailypic

By Yvonnedailypic

Horizons with Brian Cox - WOW!

This morning in watercolour class with Kate we took our own inspiration. I took a calendar and chose the otter. I completed the base coat and shall fiddle on it between now and next lesson. We talked about next term. Only 2 have signed up so the class won't go ahead. Susan was really upset as it is 'what she does on a Wednesday'. I felt for her and suggested that she go the Witham art class instead. She lacks confidence to drive on the A12 - this surprised me at first, then when thinking about it I understood. 

This evening we were taken back in time 13.7 billion years to the beginning of our universe and offered a glimpse of the future. A Christmas present from C. Brian Cox Horizons was excellent.  There were some fantastic videos of a black hole and he explained Singularity and The Event Horizon using the Penrose Diagram. Brilliant, because I understood it. Also he finished with the paradox of looking at the stars and feeling small and insignificant, whilst simultaneously knowing that inteligente life is likely to only exist in our galaxy on Earth. Quite profound. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.