Arachne

By Arachne

Wood

A brilliantly versatile renewable material. Almost ubiquitous.

I had a very interesting conversation with a colleague this morning about presenting information clearly and comprehensibly on screens: large monitors and small mobiles. He's examined packaging to help think about information hierarchies and I learnt that people reading cereal packets usually look at the right side after the front. I guess that's to do with handedness.

I told him about an exercise I did for design students giving them glasses that simulated various visual impairments then asking them to decide what they could safely eat (diabetes is a particular issue) by reading the ingredients lists on various food packages I offered them. Not possible. Ingredients lists are printed too small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.