loisbiz

By loisbiz

Golden-Crowned Sparrow

This Sparrow was sitting on a metal perch forever; he was moving an orange seed around in his beak the whole time, I don't think he ever cracked it and ate it. You can see how windy it was here by his ruffled breast feathers. I was reading a little about these Sparrows; they nest in Canada or Alaska in the Summer and Winter on the West Coast of the United States so they will be heading North soon. 

Today was a windy day here at the beach; we stayed in most of the day, we did go to the Police Museum in Rockaway and practiced browsing without buying at the local souvenir store. I was really proud of Ellie, she embraced the idea of "This is what I would buy if I had money" and "Next time I earn some money I would buy this". I think her Grandpa had difficulty not buying her something, but he went along with her contentment with looking, naming things she would like to buy, and walking away with nothing. Ellie understood that we had ordered a book she wanted from Amazon this morning with the money she earned pulling weeds with me this week and that she got what she had already wanted and needed to wait to earn more. I wish her mother would learn this too. Too many young people are impulsive and end up with no money for necessities. Don't get me going about this...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.