Islandscape

By Islandscape

Rescue 177

Today we had an exercise with Rescue 177, the Royal Navy's search and rescue helicopter based at HMS Gannet at Prestwick. I was fortunate to be one of the crew who was 'winched' into the helicopter. I had my 5D with me but the helicopter crew were trying to complete the exercise as soon as possible as the weather was drawing in so there wasn't really time for me to wear a despatch harness so that I could move around the helicopter to take photos of the lifeboat and winching exercise from the air. There was then a very exciting moment when it came to be my turn to be dropped back on to the deck from the helicopter when the zip on the camera bag which I borrowed broke. I had the 5D strap hooked through a carabiner on my lifejacket and with crossed fingers I was winched back on to the lifeboat, landing very unceremoniously on my bum on the bow of the boat. Fortunately only my pride was dented and the 5D was fine but the incident was caught on video and so as part of my Press Officer duties I will have the pleasure of having to watch it and having to include it in the official video. It's definitely one for the Christmas out-takes compilation video too. This photo was taken when I was back on the lifeboat. I like the shallow depth of field as my great friend Tony 'Kiwi' (guess where he's from - and it's not Australia) is watching Rescue 177 coming in again, this time to lift a crew member from the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.