Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Aid for a Bird

It was a good weather morning, the swimming pool was open as usual and I walked over and swam the requisite mile before breakfast.  I then got into the garden, giving the lawn a quick cut.  

It was as I was admiring my handiwork when I heard a bang from the conservatory and caught sight of something dropping towards the windowsill inside.  Imagine my surprise to find a small male siskin lying motionless on the windowsill (see extra).  On closer inspection I noticed that it was still breathing in quick shallow breaths.  We assumed he was concussed as on picking him up there was no effort to escape and it lay motionless in my hand.  We took it out into the garden and let it rest on the bird table, out of reach of any predators.  It stayed there, lying on its side, claws curled up, still panting.  We sat in the garden watching and hoping.  Finally, he lifted his head and started to check around the surroundings.  He stayed there for another 5 minutes or so, but as I took the final image, he opened his wings and flew off into the branches of the nearby tree.  So pleased we were there to help and he wasn't found by our cat, Fleur first.  Our good deed for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.