Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

The Frankton Express

It's been lovely and sunny today, a fine day between two wet spells. I made the most of it by doing some gardening.

This afternoon F and I went to the canal at Lower Frankton.  He's been a fisherman all his life - his dad took him fishing from being a small boy. I left him fishing (it's not something that I like) and went for a walk along the canal.

There were lots of chiffchaffs around - I saw one chasing another around a tree.  In a hedge were two wrens having a shouting match with each other until one flew at the other and sent it away. 

When I got back to F he was very pleased to have caught  an enormous pike, the biggest he'd ever landed (with photographic evidence - we know what fishermen are like!)

On the way back to our cars we passed a house that has a garden railway so we stayed and watched it going round for a while.  The man in the blip is the owner who was controlling it. It had a little station and engine shed too so a great layout.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.