Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Mallards

 Yesterday I said to my husband that it would be lovely to see some different wildlife on the pond instead of just Mallards, Moorhens and Coots.
 
This morning, I looked out of the window in the direction of the pond and saw what I thought were two French Partridges. Then I realised that was not what they were. They were Mandarin ducks. I have included a blurry picture as an extra, just to record the event. One had disappeared and this one was running towards our boundary. I have only even seen a Mandarin Duck in a wildlife sanctuary, never in my garden.  
 
Today’s main picture is of four Mallards, there was a fifth nearby, but not close enough to get it in the picture; no ducklings this year yet.
 
The temperature at noon today was eleven degrees Celsius.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.