Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Was looking at what's written on this folder of my Mum's, being reminded of what's to come, and one of the main reasons for not replacing my previous car, along with barely using it. Nigh on five years since then, and still without any intention of owning one, I've just acquired one. Must have saved a fortune whilst without one, but the insurance will sting somewhat with no claims being reset to zero if you've a gap without any for over two years.

At the age of 93, Mum has sensibly decided to finally give up driving. Wanting to get rid of the car, a twelve year old Skoda Fabia with a mere 26,000 (ish) miles on the clock, I've largely been persuaded by siblings to take it. The amounts being offered by some locals seemed a bit paltry to me, considering its mileage and condition. Will mainly use it for more frequent visits to my folks, and taking them, and any stuff for them, about the area. A sight more safe and comfortable going over the Struie hill road in the Winter months than the likes of the motorbike, though I'm unlikely to increase the annual mileage figure with my typical usage.

Documents to sort out for Mum, and then for me. The latter, with those associated bills. Seems a nice car. Am a named driver on the insurance, so there was no problem taking it home. Biggest faff was trying to find a bus that heads their direction to go and collect it. Didn't fancy cycling over that hill in February, though have been over it in the Summer, long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.