HelHSS

By HelHSS

More Signs

Temperature +4. Overcast, some wind from the east.

I went out. 
In the morning I read from the newspaper that Finnish Museum Of Natural History has started a challenge this week for everyone interested, from children to seniors. The challenge is called "100 species challenge". Participants aim to detect at least one hundred species of plants, insects or fungi during this year.


I decided to try. I do it anyway, have done it for years to myself just to learn about nature. I began from lichens, and a couple of moss species. I knew where to find them easily. The result was eight or nine lichen species, quite a long way to hudred left :)


Just when I was photographing a species of lichen I heard the voice of Common cranes (Grus grus). The first ones I've seen this spring. They flew above me, in the best possible place to capture. They have started moving to Finland to breed. Migrating flocks fly in a "V" formation.

Our neighbour in the allotment garden area sent me a video where a common blackbird was building a nest into our dishwashing shed out by the cottage.

I can assure the spring has come here too :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.