horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Getting ready for an Analogue April

Yesterday Mel talked me into buying* a little Kershaw Eight-20 King Penguin camera in a vintage / antiques store in Dunfermline we'd been meaning to pop into for a while. Either this was because she wanted to buy a mirror for a burgeoning collection going up our stairs, or it was to distract me from looking at the Corgi Blues Brothers car toy in the window...

For a while I've wanted to use some of the analogue cameras that have been sitting in the cupboard, so I figure I'll give a go next month. I'll snap a digital shot just in case something doesn't work, but there'll be more thought put into a couple of shots a day. It'll also be a bit of a Monochrome Month cos I'll be developing these myself in a little kit-in-a-bag that my brother got me for Christmas a few years back, and black and white is apparently easier than colour,

I've developed on 35mm roll before, and it turned out really really well, so I'm looking forward to this.

The King Penguin (the middle camera)  is actually from the 50s, so was old tech when launched, looking like a folding pocket camera from a good 20-30 years earlier. It's fixed focus, only has two different f-stops, has a fixed 1/50th shutter speed (or bulb if you fancy timing, say, 1/100th yourself), but apparently takes great photos.

I've had the biiiiiig folding Kodak 3A for a while, after being given it by our old (sadly departed) neighbour when we lived in Edinburgh. It had been his mother's, and uses a conversion kit to be able to use 120 film (it's supposed to use 122 film, which you can't get now); while the Pentax ME Super SLR is my dad's old camera, and the 50mm lens gives gorgeous portrait shots, though i'd also got a 200mm lens in the cupboard, so I might give it a whirl with some wildlife...

Anyway, long story short, might be two or three weeks before the back blips start appearing....

* Okay, I didn't need much persuasion...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.