Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Surprising

I'm past working out how I should be affected by the changing of the clocks, but whatever it is it's all catching up on me now ...

I think we possibly had the best weather in the UK today - a real Easter Day with blue sky and enough warmth in the sun to suggest that summer might happen some day. Just as well the sun was there to waken us up, for we had to be out to church as usual - no concessions there! There was a good scattering of visitors today - I spoke to a father and son who were on holiday, discovering that I knew their own rector in their home church - the Pisky world is a small one. Glorious service - the photo is of the moment when David began asperging the entire congregation who had just renewed their baptismal vows (I know - some of us did it last night as well) with a bunch of rosemary picked from the bush just outside the church, marching up and down the aisle making sure no-one escaped. Himself electrified the congregation with some exuberant organ playing, and I felt I had no voice left at all by the end. David's sermon told us, among other things, to be surprising - as individuals and as a group - and I thought as he said it that there are some things about us that already seem fairly surprising: viewed dispassionately there are a lot of retired people in our church and yet the atmosphere is never staid or dreary. I can't imagine life without being part of it - it would certainly be much less purposeful and less varied. 

Di came back for coffee and chat, after which we both fell asleep over lunch (no - not sitting at the table; we stayed in the armchairs with the Sunday papers). It wasn't till 4pm, when the sun moved round and landed on me, that we woke ourselves enough to go for an undemanding walk. This took us to the old road at Benmore, then across the current road north and back along the bank of the River Eachaig. We saw the extraordinary rebirth of some gunnera plants - the triffids - and a red squirrel using trees high above us as a bridge across our track. (I've put a couple of photos as an extra). 

Dinner was late because I was lulled by the fact that it was still sunny at 6pm and we didn't get home till then. And now bed is going to be late again. Ah well.

Happy Easter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.