Joinery Bench Slab

I found time to do a bit of dimensioning on one of my projects today.
I'm building a joinery bench. It's higher and smaller than a planing bench and will have a 25" wooden vice along it's front apron. It will be used for cutting dovetails and other joints, and doing carving and anything else that you need to get closer to your eyes.
This slab is made up of four 3x4" glued together and will be surrounded by a 5" deep apron. I found a 4 meter length of recycled hardwood the other day and this is what I've done with it. I think it's Iron Bark, which is an unbelievably hard and dense hardwood. It cost me about $24 - a quarter of the price of new timber, so I'm very pleased to get it so cheap. It weighs about 30 kilos, so it should provide a bomb proof surface to work on. More to come later as I continue building the bench.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.